Joel Meyerowitz – The Master Of Street Photography – Design You Trust

Joel Meyerowitz – The Master Of Street Photography

Joel Meyerowitz (b. 1938) was born in New York City and began taking photographs in 1962. Although he has always seen himself as a street photographer in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank (he is the co-author of the standard work on the genre, Bystander: A History of Street Photography, 1994) he transformed the mode with his pioneering use of color. As an early advocate of color photography (mid-60’s), Meyerowitz was instrumental in changing the attitude toward the use of color photography from one of resistance to nearly universal acceptance.

Meyerowitz was the only photographer to be given unimpeded access to Ground Zero in the wake of 9/11. The images he captured have formed the foundation of a major national archive, and an exhibition of selected images has travelled to more than 200 cities in 60 countries.

More: Joel Meyerowitz












































































If you want more awesome content, subscribe to 'Oh, Design You Trust,' our brand new Facebook page! Trust me, you won't be disappointed.

More Inspiring Stories

Sense Of Water: The First And Highly Anticipated Photo Book By Finnish Photographer Susanna Majuri
This is the End... Bitch!
Stunning Entries for The International Festival of Photojournalism 2020
Mila Kunis is New Face of Christian Dior Spring/Summer 2012
Beautiful Photo Portraits Of Australian Women Painted In Vibrant Colors
Fabulous Vintage Photos Showing The Amazing Women’s Street Style From The 1920s
Bizarre Photos Of Rarely Seen Places And Structures Captured With A Drone Offering A New Perspective Of Our Beautiful Planet
Secret Underground Facility That Is Hidden Deep Under Moscow
Rihanna Says Goodbye to Golden Tresses, Back to Black Locks and Cropped Side
The Best Perfectly Timed Photos From Before It Was An Internet Meme
Daredevil Photographer Captures Stunning Cityscape Images in Global Rooftop Craze
"Celebrated For You": The Birthdays Of Hollywood Directors
A Photographer Travels Across India To Show How Beautiful And Diverse Local People Are, And We’re Mesmerized
The Lost Golden Age: Soviet Russia, As Seen By Photographer Vladimir Sokolaev
Isolated Photographer Shoots A Wedding Using His LEGOs And The Pics Are Hilariously Good
Photographer Explores The Artefacts of Abandoned Former USSR Sites
Painting-Like Swimming Pool Photography
Photo of the Day: Jiff The Dracula
Virtual Reality Photography
Historic Photos: A Journey Through Time
Pictures of Fascinating Jacuzzi Hot Tubs From the 1970s and 1980s
Rough Norwegian Street Art By Dolk Lundgren
Prague’s Narrowest Street is So Narrow it Has Traffic Lights For Pedestrians
Artist Cosplays As Well-Known Characters, Celebrities And Paintings