Joel Meyerowitz – The Master Of Street Photography – Design You Trust

Joel Meyerowitz – The Master Of Street Photography

Joel Meyerowitz (b. 1938) was born in New York City and began taking photographs in 1962. Although he has always seen himself as a street photographer in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank (he is the co-author of the standard work on the genre, Bystander: A History of Street Photography, 1994) he transformed the mode with his pioneering use of color. As an early advocate of color photography (mid-60’s), Meyerowitz was instrumental in changing the attitude toward the use of color photography from one of resistance to nearly universal acceptance.

Meyerowitz was the only photographer to be given unimpeded access to Ground Zero in the wake of 9/11. The images he captured have formed the foundation of a major national archive, and an exhibition of selected images has travelled to more than 200 cities in 60 countries.

More: Joel Meyerowitz












































































If you want more awesome content, subscribe to 'Oh, Design You Trust,' our brand new Facebook page! Trust me, you won't be disappointed.

More Inspiring Stories

Dream World: Revisiting the Surreal Urban Landscapes of Japan by Anthony Presley
Photographer Zohaib Anjum Took Stunning Shots Of Some Of The World's Most Luxurious High-Rise Apartments
Sunny Photos Of Skateboarding In California During The 1970s
Ad Photographer Tyler Gray Captures Dark And Vibrant Photos Of The North America Suburbs
Beautiful ’60s Fashion Photography by Henry Clarke
Creative Architecture Photography By Nick Frank
Bees Under The Macro Lens
Pilot Takes Amazing Photos From His Cockpit, And They Will Take Your Breath Away
Photographer Kevin Fleming Finds Beauty in the Wild
"The Forgotten Dream": Photo Manipulations That Show What If 1900s Immigrants Arrived In Present Day New York City
London is a Ghost Town
Candid Photographs of The Rolling Stones Performing at the Alexandra Palace in London, 1964
2014 National Geographic Photo Contest, Week 8
Artist Creates Delicious Smoothie Blends to Match Pantone Color Swatches
Fashion In Early Photography – Glamorous Photos Show Female Models In Victorian Era
Wonderful Photos Capture Everyday Life of Florida in the 1980s
Child Photo Contest 2017 – The Best Pictures Dedicated To Childhood
Fascinating Photos Documented Everyday Life At A Fast Food Burger Restaurant of Washington In The 1970s
UK Astronomy Photographer Of The Year 2016 Shortlist
'Know Where You Stand': Photographer Fuses 4 Historical Events With Present-Day Images
"Tyne Pride And Fall": Chris Killip’s Photographs Of Britain’s Vanished Industrial Heartlands
Magical Urban And Natural Landscapes In Japan By Hiroki Furukawa
Tiny Critter Becomes a Big Wheel
Dreamy Nighttime Country Side & City Scenes Bathed In Neon By Photographer Elsa Bleda